Board of Directors


Lukman Azeez

Lukman is a trial and appellate litigator. He has represented individuals and corporations in Chapter 13 bankruptcy matters, Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act cases, False Claims Act cases, civil rights cases, and criminal investigations. Lukman has written appellate briefs in several federal courts of appeals and at both the certiorari and merits stages at the U.S. Supreme Court. Lukman speaks or reads, with varying degrees of proficiency, English, French, Italian, and Yoruba and frequently works with lawyers in foreign jurisdictions.

Vice President

Al-Amyn Sumar

Al-Amyn Sumar is counsel at The New York Times Company, where he works on newsroom issues. Al-Amyn previously worked at The Times as the First Amendment Fellow for 2018-19. Before and after his fellowship, Al-Amyn was an associate in Ballard Spahr's media and entertainment law group. He clerked for Judge J. Paul Oetken of the Southern District of New York, Chief Justice Beverly McLachlin of the Supreme Court of Canada, and the Justices of the Court of Appeal for Ontario. He graduated from Harvard Law School, the University of Cambridge, and the University of Alberta. Like Zain, Al-Amyn hails from Calgary, Canada (beyond the Wall). He enjoys reading nonfiction, running, playing squash, and doing really easy crossword puzzles.


Zarar Ahmed

Zarar is currently an Associate Counsel with the Board of Veterans' Appeals, Department of Veterans Affairs in Washington DC. He attended the University of Mary Washington for undergrad, and received his JD/MBA from the University of Baltimore. Prior to practicing law for the federal government, Zarar interned for the Division of Enforcement at the US Securities & Exchange Commission, and also interned for the Honorable Clayton Greene, Jr. at the Court of Appeals of Maryland.  Originally from the NJ/NY area, Zarar is an avid sports fan and enjoys rooting for his hometown Yankees, Nets and Jets.


Sarah Imam

Sarah Imam is the Director of Social Programming for CAMBA. She is a Northern Virginia native where she attended University of Virginia for her undergraduate degree and George Mason School of Law for her JD. She is currently practicing at the Department of Veterans Affairs, and also has a strong interest in immigration law. In her free time she loves to bake, sit in front of a fireplace, and binge watch the Great British Baking Show.

Director of Social Programming

Michelle Weinbaum

Michelle Weinbaum is the Director of Social Programming for CAMBA. She is currently an associate at Kirkland & Ellis LLP where she practices International Trade and National Security law, and was previously an associate at Skadden.  She focuses her pro bono work on defensive asylum proceedings.  Michelle received her JD from William and Mary Law School, MS from Kansas State University, and BS from the United States Military Academy at West Point.  In her free time, Michelle enjoys running, baking macarons, and listening to podcasts--especially Reply All.

Director of Communications

Zaheer Maskatia

Zaheer is currently Associate Counsel at the Board of Veterans' Appeals. Prior to joining the Board, Zaheer practiced consumer litigation in public and private settings.  He also regularly represents pro bono clients on behalf of the DC Bar. Originally from the San Francisco Bay Area, Zaheer holds a JD from Santa Clara University School of Law, and a BA in Legal Studies from the University of California at Berkeley.  Zaheer enjoys trivia, learning languages, and is an avid coffee snob.

If you would like to contact the Board, please email us at

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software